What If…

Adult female traveller’s mood: pensive

Teenage son traveller’s mood: oblivious

Countdown: 4 sleeps

I had a bout of the What Ifs after suppertime today. I get those sometimes, when I have too much energy and no place to put it. If I were a dog, today I would have been a Chihuahua chasing her tail with savage glee. Ah, those what ifs…

What if there’s bad weather and the plane is late, making me lose my connecting flight to Tokyo?

What if there’s a lot of turbulence and I can’t sleep a wink the whole time?

What if I puke on the guy in front of me? Or worse, on myself?

What if I drop something from my bag (or my passport from my back pocket)?

What if I and/or my son catch something breathing that airplane funk and have to drag my/our butt around Japan for the three weeks afterward?

What if we crash?

What if I get kidnapped and sold as sex slave (I know, I know, middle-aged women aren’t prime targets). But what if?

What if I lose my shoes and can’t replace them because I wear size 10 and no Japanese woman wears such humongous shoes-size and I have to find footwear with the menfolk?

What if GOZILLA ATTACKS TOKYO BAY AND CRUSHES THE CITY UNDER ITS SCALY TAIL AND WEBBED FEET?!

What if I don’t like Japan and am disappointed…?

 

2 thoughts on “What If…

  1. I can’t believe you are only carrying a bag that will hold 20L! You are my hero. So looking forward to your adventures, oh yes, btw, Godzilla is make believe. Thank goodness! A

Leave a Reply

